Government services companies sell people and know-how rather than hardware: information technology, engineering, logistics, health program administration and consulting. As a group they are more dependent on federal money than the defense primes. Of the eight services companies we cover that disclose a share, five get 80% or more of their revenue from the U.S. government. The median is 84%, against 70% for the six defense primes.
Science Applications International, V2X and CACI International lead the sector at 98%, 96% and 95.6%. KBR, Maximus and ICF International are the exceptions, at 57%, 55% and 43%. Booz Allen Hamilton and Parsons don't give a company-wide figure. Together the eight that do booked $55.4B of U.S. government revenue in their latest fiscal years, partly by our calculation (share × total revenue) where a company gives only a percentage.
U.S. government share of total revenue, latest fiscal year
Company-reported percentages. Dashed line marks 80%; companies below it are shown lighter.
Show the data as a table
| Company | Share | U.S. gov revenue | Fiscal year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Science Applications International SAIC | 98% | $7.11B (calc.) | FY2026 |
| V2X VVX | 96% | $4.30B (calc.) | FY2025 |
| CACI International CACI | 95.6% | $9.15B (calc.) | FY2026 |
| Leidos LDOS | 87% | $14.9B (calc.) | FY2025 |
| Amentum AMTM | 81% | $11.7B (calc.) | FY2025 |
| KBR KBR | 57% | $4.43B | FY2025 |
| Maximus MMS | 55% | $2.99B (calc.) | FY2025 |
| ICF International ICFI | 43% | $805M (calc.) | FY2025 |
Booz Allen Hamilton, Parsons are left out because they do not disclose a company-wide percentage.
The ranking, with what each figure counts
Each company defines "U.S. government revenue" in its own words. The table shows the basis we recorded from each 10-K, next to the share of its 2025 federal contract obligations that came from the Department of Defense.
| Rank | Company | Reported share | What the figure counts | Fiscal year | Obligations from DoD |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Science Applications International | 98% | U.S. government, prime contracts and subcontracts | FY2026 | 46.6% |
| 2 | V2X | 96% | U.S. government | FY2025 | 89.5% |
| 3 | CACI International | 95.6% | Federal government, prime + sub | FY2026 | 57.9% |
| 4 | Leidos | 87% | U.S. government, prime + sub | FY2025 | 42.8% |
| 5 | Amentum | 81% | U.S. government | FY2025 | 77% |
| 6 | KBR | 57% | U.S. government | FY2025 | 77.2% |
| 7 | Maximus | 55% | U.S. federal only | FY2025 | 0.2% |
| 8 | ICF International | 43% | U.S. federal government clients | FY2025 | 5% |
| Booz Allen Hamilton | Not disclosed | 10-K says "substantially all"; no percentage given | FY2026 | 40.5% | |
| Parsons | Not disclosed | No company-wide percentage disclosed | FY2025 | 44.6% |
Fiscal years end in different months. CACI's latest ended June 30, 2026 and Booz Allen's March 31, 2026, so their figures cover different periods from those of companies with December year ends.
Not all "government revenue" is the same
The definitions differ in ways that matter for comparison. Leidos and CACI say their figures include work as a subcontractor to other contractors. Science Applications International's sentence covers both: "In fiscal 2026, 2025 and 2024, 98% of our total revenues were attributable to prime contracts with the U.S. government or to subcontracts with other contractors engaged in work for …" Amentum's narrower wording counts direct contracts only: "Approximately 81% of the Company’s revenues were derived through direct contracts with agencies of the U.S. Government for the year ended October 3, 2025."
Maximus reports federal revenue alone. The rest of its government business is with states and localities, and its 10-K says so in the same sentence: "In fiscal year 2025, approximately 55% of our total revenue was derived from the U.S. federal government, and approximately 33% of our total revenue was derived from contracts with state …" Counted together, government customers of all levels are a much larger part of Maximus' revenue than its federal share suggests.
Booz Allen Hamilton's filing says "substantially all" of its revenue comes from the U.S. government but gives no percentage. It reports revenue by market instead: Defense $6.07B, Intelligence $1.90B, Civil $3.25B. Parsons gives no company-wide figure either. Its 10-K describes one segment this way: Federal Solutions segment ($3.22B) is "substantially all" U.S. government. We show both companies as "not disclosed" rather than estimate a share.
Who the customers are
Dependence on Washington is only half the picture. The other half is which part of Washington. Defense and civilian agencies are funded through separate appropriations bills, so two companies with the same reported share can face very different budget risks.
Booz Allen Hamilton, ICF International, Leidos, Maximus, Parsons and Science Applications International, six of the ten services companies, got most of their contract obligations in federal fiscal year 2025 from civilian agencies. The other four, Amentum, CACI International, KBR and V2X, got most of theirs from the Department of Defense. V2X is the most defense-heavy, at 89.5% from the Department of Defense. Maximus is the least: 99.8% of its obligations came from civilian agencies.
Leidos shows how mixed a large services firm can be. The Department of Defense awarded 42.8% of its obligations. The Department of Veterans Affairs came second, at 25%, more than any single military service.
Leidos: obligations by awarding agency, FFY2025
Top awarding sub-agencies; the rest grouped as Other.
Show the data as a table
| Agency | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Department of Veterans Affairs | $2.78B | 25% |
| Department of the Army | $1.43B | 12.9% |
| Department of the Navy | $1.41B | 12.7% |
| Federal Acquisition Service | $786M | 7.1% |
| Defense Information Systems Agency | $698M | 6.3% |
| Department of the Air Force | $673M | 6.1% |
| National Institutes of Health | $649M | 5.8% |
| Defense Health Agency | $366M | 3.3% |
| Other | $2.32B | 20.9% |
Other companies have one large civilian customer. Maximus: Department of Veterans Affairs, 52.5% of obligations; Parsons: Department of State, 28.6% of obligations; KBR: NASA, 16% of obligations.
One caution on these figures. The General Services Administration signs a large share of contracts for Booz Allen, CACI and SAIC, and it often buys on behalf of other agencies, including the Department of Defense. Contract records name the agency that signed, not always the one that paid, so the civilian shares for those three may overstate their civilian exposure.
Contracts versus reported revenue
For eight of the services companies we can compare a year of federal contract obligations with reported U.S. government revenue. Seven have ratios below 1.0, from V2X at 0.76 down to ICF International at 0.46. Maximus is the exception, at 1.30. Obligations are commitments, not revenue, and subcontract work never appears in a company's own prime contract record, so ratios below 1.0 are common in this sector. Our analysis of what companies say vs. what the contracts show covers the measure in detail.
How we did this
We read each company's latest 10-K and recorded its own figure for revenue from the U.S. government, with the sentence it comes from. Where a company gives only a percentage, U.S. government dollars are calculated as share × total revenue. Agency figures are prime contract obligations on USAspending.gov to the recipients we matched to each company, grouped by awarding agency. See the sector ranking and the methodology page.